More than killing?

Unstructured ideas, requests and suggestions for the development of the game.
Lee
android_version: 2.2

More than killing?

Post by Lee »

Hi everyone, I'm relatively new to both the game and this forum (I'm only level 8), but one thing that's already struck me is that the only way it seems to be able to make any real experience is to kill things. Lots of things. If Andor's Trail is genuinely aiming to be a role-playing game, there should be more rewards for the RP aspects of the game.

I know quests and dialogue are probably the biggest consumers of development time, but I don't think you'd necessarily need to flood the game with new quests. I have some proposals:
  • 1) More XP for completing a quest

2) Introduce quests that respawn or quests that never complete. For example, the potion merchant in town might need a constant supply of ingredients. Each 'quest' might be to deliver a certain number of a random type of monster body parts (of locally spawning monsters). Each time the character completes one quest, another spawns - maybe requiring slightly more ingredients and\or slightly more exotic monster parts. Additionally, rats could respawn in Mikhail's garden, messages or objects could always need couriering between towns, etc. - an endless supply of quests that steadily scale in difficulty (e.g., rats get bigger and tougher, messages need taking to more distant towns, etc.). An alternative to the mindless monster-killing would be attractive and provide some variety when the main quests have completed.

3) Reward XP for the first time you explore a new area (i.e., go off the edge of a known location). The farther the new location\dungeon from your starting village, the greater the XP award.

4) Award an XP bonus for the first time you kill a specific creature, but then just a normal reward thereafter.