v0.8.10 (BWM fill) released to Google Play!

Useful links
Source code of the game - Contribution guide - ATCS Editor - Translate the game on Weblate - Example walkthrough - Andor's Trail Directory - Join the Discord
Get the game (v0.8.10) from Google, F-Droid, our server, or itch.io

animation bug

A place to submit bugs to the Andor's Trail Development Team.
Post Reply
Stoodge
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2011 12:28 am
android_version: 4.0
Location: Middle of the meat grinder

animation bug

Post by Stoodge »

i have noticed on occasion that when entering a battle if the status effect is still animating (the little explosion and floating number) then it freezes mid animation. it only seems to last the first round or until hit for damage.
I have been able to reproduce this but getting the timing correct is difficult.
i has happened with both bleeding wounds and shadow regen.

there is no impact on gameplay however for polish on the "final product" i feel it should be addressed.

is anyone else noticing this bug?

Code: Select all

Lvl: 60, XP: 3681789, Gold: 280362, RoLS: 1, GoLF: 1, ShaF: 1
HP: 137, AC: 237% , AD: 36-47, AP: 3, CHS: 23, ECC: 16%, CM: 2.0, BC: 91%, DR: 2 
WA, HH, Dg, BS, CS(2), IF(2), Rg(2), MF(2), SM, EB, DBS
R.I.P. my original character : Stoodge
phydeaux
VIP
Posts: 339
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 7:40 am
android_version: 5.1 - Lolipop
Location: Gargoyle cavern, blindly hacking mobs to pieces till I find a rols!
Contact:

Re: animation bug

Post by phydeaux »

I think this is probably the same bug
http://andorstrail.com/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=1657&start=0
The status animation is handled in it's own subroutine, and that sub can be interrupted... I've noticed this happening once or twice, but yes, it is really hard to get the timing right :)
Stoodge
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2011 12:28 am
android_version: 4.0
Location: Middle of the meat grinder

Re: animation bug

Post by Stoodge »

thanks for the quick reply phydeaux. i did wonder about that however the thread didn't seem quite the correct one for the issue.
is was definately a toss up between posting there and starting a new thread.

Code: Select all

Lvl: 60, XP: 3681789, Gold: 280362, RoLS: 1, GoLF: 1, ShaF: 1
HP: 137, AC: 237% , AD: 36-47, AP: 3, CHS: 23, ECC: 16%, CM: 2.0, BC: 91%, DR: 2 
WA, HH, Dg, BS, CS(2), IF(2), Rg(2), MF(2), SM, EB, DBS
R.I.P. my original character : Stoodge
Bard
Posts: 87
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 9:00 am
android_version: 4.0

Re: animation bug

Post by Bard »

phydeaux wrote:I think this is probably the same bug
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=1657&start=0
I think these bugs belong together, but they are not the same. The bug you are mentioning is abut incorrect calculation of the number that is showed in the animation and this one here, that btw I have also seen, is about interrupting this animation.

So this subroutine should not be interruptable ;) Don't know if there are resources to put them in an own thread or something ...
phydeaux
VIP
Posts: 339
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 7:40 am
android_version: 5.1 - Lolipop
Location: Gargoyle cavern, blindly hacking mobs to pieces till I find a rols!
Contact:

Re: animation bug

Post by phydeaux »

Actually, it is the same problem, just different manifestations... Meaning the subroutine needs to be re-vamped... But it's not really a bug, because it doesn't cause a calculation error... Shadow save me, I need to teach myself java... But this one's an easy fix, just needs a redraw at beginning of fight(easy way), or a hand-off (hard way, but more polished)... The other one needs a bit more...
Post Reply